top of page

In Defence Of Writer's Block


In Defence of Writer's Block, he's not all that bad

He's been my room mate for a few months now.

At first I approached his stay with unbridled fury

But when I took a moment to listen to his silence,

To his complete lack of creativity,

I learnt something new.

I learnt who I was without my stories:

Normal.

I was normal.

Something I always feared.

But Writer's Block showed me,

In all his silence,

That normal is okay.

It's okay to go through day to day life and not have a single creative thought.

It's okay to go out into town and just have a good time

instead of trying to remember the details your euphoria.

It's okay to just be.

After a while, Writer's Block became my friend.

Yes, he irritates me

And yes, sometimes I wish him gone.

But he releases me from writing other people's lives

And lets me live my own.

Personal Favourites
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page