top of page

Lifeline


I’m holding my lifeline in my hands

As I march across foreign lands

Up to my knees in mud and death,

Not knowing when I’ll take my final breath.

To my left is Tommy. He’s just nineteen.

He plays for his local football team.

When he came he smiled he laughed he sang

But now man’s hatred’s poisonous fang

Has sucked him dry.

Tommy left with the first shot of his gun

That stole the life of a foreign man.

His eyes are sunken,

His heart is black

His wife Rosie wont back.

I’m holding my lifeline in my hands

As I watch the sands

Of my humanity slip away

And I replace the machines of yesterday

That rusted and fell into the hands of the enemy.

Bang. Bang. Bang.

No Tommy!

Not here Tommy!

Run Tommy!

Go!

Splattered blood,

unseeing eyes,

Far away Rosie cries.

We give up our lives for the land of the free

As we loose all sense of humanity.

We’re broken machines, empty shells,

Something you place on forgotten shelves.

I’m holding my lifeline in my hands

At the complete mercy of man’s

Inability to see eye to eye,

So in a poppy field I will lie.

Goodbye my friends, my family, my wife,

I hope to see you in another life.

Personal Favourites
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page