top of page

Lost at Sea


To... (I don't really care)

Anyone who's listening, anyone who's there

Please just give me a moment. I have a story to share

Of her heavenly smiles and toffee hair

Her big blue eyes with the strangest stare

That travelled off into the distance. I don't know where

And I'll never know

To... (does it matter?)

Have you ever heard the pitter patter

Of rain on your window whilst pancake batter

Turns into gourmet gold by an angel armed with a spatula

Blessing the food with her heavenly laughter

And bringing it upstairs so you can grow fatter

Oh so happily?

To...(you, I guess)

There is something I must confess

Everyday she loved me less and less

Her heart sailing away, due west

Leaving me a ship-wrecked mess

With loneliness building a permanent nest

In the shattered timbers of my heart

To... (her, this time)

I'm sorry things didn't work out fine

I'm sorry that I crossed the line

I'm sorry I didn't read the sign that said tread carefully

I got carried away because you were mine

With you my mornings were bright sunshine

My evenings cheese and fine wine

My nights the sweetest lullaby

And I'm sorry

Please hear these words

For all that they're worth

My beautiful blue eyed, pancake-making song bird

I'm sorry

Personal Favourites
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page