top of page

My Addiction


I have not moved in four hours, paralysed by the hypnotic light of my phone. My brain is switched off, mindlessly watching the movement on the screen. A tiny part of it screams at me for wasting my time, wasting my life but it is drowned out by the sea of numbness my phone provides.

It has hooked me on blue light and useless information. It presents the bait of social media and Youtube, showcasing them like sweets in a shop window and I eagerly eat them up. That tiny part of my brain screams at me again, louder this time. Finally, I respond. Anger breaks through the numbness as I realise there is none of the day left for me to actually enjoy. I throw my phone down onto my bed and storm downstairs. I'm furious and frustrated but most of all disappointed.

I race outside into the freezing cold and the pouring rain and let the elements use me as their punching bag. For what seems like hours I stand there, allowing the weather to beat my addiction out of me. For a moment it works, I vow to start anew. But, for all that it hurts, I know that it is not going to happen because my phone has caught me on a line and slowly but surely, it is reeling me back in.

Personal Favourites
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page