top of page

The Writers Den


A few weeks ago I went to the Writers Den with my friend and fellow blogger Hannah (link to her blog at the bottom of the post- you should check it out- she is very talented). I had a great time and it was nice meeting her again.

Whilst there, we had to write quick fire poetry based on certain prompts. Hannah's was anxiety and I didn't use mine (oops). Here's what we came up with:

Anxiety

by Hannah Zaki

It tastes like salty water

crystallised grains swirling in my mouth

it tastes like a gulp of the sea

like I'm drowning in my nerves

It has no shape

I can feel it sloshing around my arms

putting pressure on my limbs

It is a never ending horizon

stretched out before me

I can hear my drastic heartbeat

echoing in my ears- like I was deep under water

A metallic smell that fills my nose

As I drown in my emotion

Rusted Words

by Amelie Frost

My words are locked in perpetual motion,

tumbling and tripping and spilling out of my mouth

in growing entropy.

I try to write them down but the words get muddled

each desperately fighting for my attention

so in the end, they all go ignored.

I'm left with incoherent sentences,

words that stay lifeless on a page.

Heavy. Leaden. Grey.

Poisonous and defeatist words drill into my brain,

planting seeds of doubt.

My pen stops moving.

The page stays clean.

Everything grinds to a halt.

I sit there.

My words turn rusty and fill my mouth with copper.

Maybe tomorrow, I think.

Maybe tomorrow, I can tell my story.

Hannah's blog:

Personal Favourites
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page